Today is the death day of nobody’s dog!

11 Jul

Today  is the death day of nobody’s dog

Nothing will mark it but a note in the  log…

I’m  faceless and nameless and no tears will fall

For I know in your world I have  no worth at all

To you, my sweet someone, I’m a friend and a dear

We ran  the wind daily and you held me so near

But the gate was left open – I chanced  a walk on my own

I’d have cowered in fear if only I’d known

I know how you  cried on the night that I strayed

I know how you searched, I know how you  prayed

But I went to a pound far far from our home

Where I crouched in  despair in my kennel alone

I know that you phoned for I heard your dear  voice

And I hoped you would hear me so I barked myself hoarse

Although I’m  a Lab cross with stockings all white

On their form I’m a Staff cross – the  description’s not right

So they said I’m not here and I sank to my bed

My  kennel cough’s worse and I can’t raise my head

The rescue came yesterday but  they hadn’t a place

For an un-neutered cross breed with his mucus-streaked  face

If only you’d come to search for me here

You would have known me at  once, you would have sensed I was near

You would have sorted my ills, you  would have carried me home

And I promise our God no more would I roam

Now  my eyes plead for mercy for my seven days are done

And I am waiting with  dread for the final vet run

No arms will caress me as they inject me to  death

No words will comfort me as I take my last breath

When the body man  comes, it is fitting I’m found

In a bin bag in the freezer in the depths of  the pound

Thrown away like the rubbish – no respect and no shame

Denied  even the time to find you again

My loyalty and devotion they did cruelly  betray

Without microchip or nametag, I am just a dispensable stray

Once  waggy-tailed, once proud, beloved and free

Oh Dad look with pain at what  mankind’s done to me!

By: Luigi-Giulietta Aero

Leave a Reply

